It’s like he’s REAL!

December 1, 2008 at 12:15 am Leave a comment

Okay, let’s be honest:  I HAVE to comment on this Twilight business.  I read the first book, I saw the movie…so let’s have at it.

Point #1: Stephenie Meyer is not a very good writer.  I wish someone would acknowledge that.  Yes, she came up with a good plot.  Yes, she’s a much more successful woman than I.  But no, she is not J.K. Rowling.  Not. Even. Close.  Every moment this comes closer to Harry Potter insanity I almost heave.

Point #2: Edward Cullen isn’t real.  And the fact that young girls can’t understand that….disturbs me.

Point #3: Stick this right up there with my Nicholas Sparks assessment (two posts down).  There are fantasies that every woman has, and not only were they created by mass media — now it’s turning right around and preying on those created emotions.  Of course I left the theatre wishing some dark and brooding gorgeous male would sweep me off my feet with an insane amount of sexual tension.  Job well done, Stephenie Meyer, job well done.

/// Note:  the scene where Edward and the Native Americans pass each other in their cars and give each other the greatest stink eye of all time?  Makes the movie.

Entry filed under: THIS really bothers me, Wow. Just wow.. Tags: , , , .

No place like home, no place like home, no place like home. Gotta love it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Look at THESE too, yo

Does anyone actually READ this?

  • 849 hits
"It's like you're trying to tell me something - I KNOW IT!"

