Daggum Young’uns

September 12, 2008 at 9:25 pm 1 comment

I’ve been attending a conference of sorts about journalism the last couple of days, and it’s been a bit of a whirlwind.

In particular, there was a rather heated argument that went on between a number of older professionals about how young kids are taking their jobs for less money.  They weren’t happy about it, to say the least.

I get the argument.  Fresh young kids are getting out of college, unmarried, eager to start a career, and (in many cases) they’re perfectly willing to spend a couple years living off basically nothing while still working 12+ hour days.  It’s actually a reality I think I’ve been prepared for for some time.

But the question becomes, are companies sacrificing quality in order to save money?

According to older professionals, yes, definitely.  But as a young’un myself, I feel a little insulted by the whole deal.  Yeah, we’re young.  Yeah, there’s a whole lot of real life shit we don’t know.  But how is it our fault that your company would rather hire us than continue with you?

Not to mention that, in the media world, young professionals know the young market and the growing technological generation we’re all living in.  In a lot of ways, we’re more ambitious, more in-tune with new trends, and more engaged with a generation that’s slowing beginning to take over for those before us.

So yeah, maybe we’re taking your jobs.  Let’s just hope we can do with them a wealth of things you haven’t been able to do before.

Entry filed under: LOOK I'm being deep!. Tags: , , , , .

The last first ‘If you text it / I’ll delete it’

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bohemianraps0dy  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:11 am

    I am a sophomore journalism major, and I understand that I will first start off with internships (where I might add seasoned veterans have no problem taking advantage of our services there), and work our way through the system whichever way we want to go.
    The economy is not perfect. Getting a college degree no longer guarantees someone a job anymore. As I see it, I would work for any experience I could get. Isn’t the point of going to college to get a degree supposed to be so you have a job you love, whether you make a large salary or not?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Look at THESE too, yo

Does anyone actually READ this?

  • 848 hits
"It's like you're trying to tell me something - I KNOW IT!"

